Posted by: lauraannwilson | February 17, 2015

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women

This week the 60th Session of the Committee on the Convention of Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) commences. The session runs from 16 February – 6 March 2015. I have the privilege of attending several sessions, and will be blogging from the sessions. By way of background, this blog aims to provide a brief outline of CEDAW.

What is CEDAW?

CEDAW is an international legal convention. The United Nations General Assembly adopted CEDAW in 1979.

CEDAW provides for the legal definition of discrimination against women. The Convention defines discrimination against women as:

“…any discrimination, exclusion or restriction made on the basis of sex which has the purpose of impairing or nullifying the recognition, enjoyment or exercise by women, irrespective of their martial status, on a basis of equality of men and women, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, social, cultural, civil or any other field”.

Parties to CEDAW commit to undertake action to end discrimination against women. Parties are legally obligated to enact national legislation to implement its obligations under CEDAW.

FACT: CEDAW is the only international human rights mechanism that recognises women’s reproductive rights.

FACT: Australia ratified CEDAW in 1983.

Further reading:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: