Posted by: lauraannwilson | February 28, 2015

Week 5 Wrap Up

This week has been both enriching and rewarding. The highlight of my week included attending the 7th Annual Geneva Summit for Human Rights and CEDAW 60th Session – 4th Periodic Review of Kyrgyzstan. (I refer readers to my blogs from earlier in the week about these events).

A couple of additional reflective comments on the Summit: I was very moved by the speakers who had been held hostage by ISIL and Boko Haram. I found these stories to be particularly harrowing and deeply moving. I encourage readers to visit the Summit website to watch the proceedings: genevasummit.org.

Weeks 6 and 7 of my internship will focus on the UN Human Rights Council. The 28th Session of the UN Human Rights Council commences on Monday 2 March 2015. I will attend the first two weeks of the session. The Session ends on 30 March 2015.

I look forward to blogging background information on the Session. Again, thanks to readers for your support and your comments.


Leave a Reply

Categories

